Advisory Council

The Iowa Reading Research Center Advisory Council advises and assists the IRRC through:

  • Representing stakeholder voices and perspectives in the area of literacy
  • Fostering collaboration between the Iowa Reading Research Center and the evaluation community
  • Staying abreast of emerging trends, research, and effective literacy practices
  • Identifying additional research needs and ways to apply research to practice in Iowa schools and communities
  • Reviewing and recommending projects and priorities to the Iowa Department of Education

Upcoming Meetings

September 8, 2017

December 7, 2017

May 16, 2018

Advisory Council Bylaws

PDF iconIowa Reading Research Center Advisory Council Bylaws


The advisory council is made up of representatives from the Iowa Department of Education, Local and Area Education Agencies, Iowa’s colleges and universities, as well as community organizations and family partners.

Advisory Council Members

Lonna Anderson
Role: Area Education Agency
Mike Bunde
Role: Community Partner
Kimberly Buryanek
Role: Local Education Agency and Parent
Angelica Cardenas-Chaisson
Role: Education Association
Joe Crozier
Role: Area Education Agency
Kara Dietrich
Role: Local Education Agency and Parent
Shelly Hanson
Role: Parent
Emily Hayden
Role: Higher Education
Pat Hogan
Role: Private School Representative
Jaci Jarmes
Role: Area Education Agency
Becky Miles-Polka
Role: Community Partner
Claudia Reyes-Fry
Role: Area Education Agency and Education Association
Nita Schmidt
Role: Higher Education
David Tilly
Role: Department of Education
Sarah Vander Zanden
Role: Higher Education
Ryan Wise
Role: Department of Education and Parent
Lindsay Woodward
Role: Higher Education and Parent